Saturday

Review: August and Everything After by Jennifer Salvato Dortorski



Book Blurb

One last summer to escape, to find herself, to figure out what comes next. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han will love this contemporary, coming-of-age romance.

Graduation was supposed to be a relief. Except Quinn can't avoid the rumors that plagued her throughout high school or the barrage of well-intentioned questions about her college plans. How is she supposed to know what she wants to do for the next four years, let alone the rest of her life? And why does no one understand that it's hard for her to think about the future—or feel as if she even deserves one—when her best friend is dead?

Spending the summer with her aunt on the Jersey shore may just be the fresh start Quinn so desperately needs. And when she meets Malcolm, a musician with his own haunted past, she starts to believe in second chances. Can Quinn find love while finding herself?

Buy Links

Toot's Review by Stacy Sabala

Quinn Gallo is running from her disgrace and devastation.  She harbors major guilt for her best friend’s death, her affair with her teacher and the disappointment her family has for her.  She owns up to her mistakes and is trying to stay out of trouble’s way.  Of course, trouble always finds her.   I like how she meets Malcolm.  He is also damaged.  She instantly takes care of him.  It is interesting how their relationship evolves.  The author really shows how difficult both characters are with trust, insecurities and outside influences.

The storyline pulls you in as Quinn becomes part of Malcolm’s new band.  She comes into herself.  She starts growing stronger and decides to face her guilt and sadness.  I really like how she feels for Malcolm and tries to keep him on the straight and narrow.  Malcolm has some major demons and he is trying hard.  However, I hate how he treats her at times.  I didn’t like the ending, however.  I read the whole story and became invested in the characters.  I was disappointed with how the author ended the book.  I felt cheated to be honest.  The storyline was great, the ending not so much.  I give it a 3 out of 5. 





No comments:

Post a Comment