Saturday

Review: 9 Days and 9 Nights by Katie Cotugno



Book Blurb



In this sequel to the New York Times bestseller 99 Days, perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Morgan Matson, Molly Barlow finds herself in Europe on her summer vacation, desperately trying to forget everything that happened a year ago. But over the course of nine days and nine nights, her whole life will be turned upside down once more. . . .

Molly Barlow isn’t that girl anymore. A business major at her college in Boston, she’s reinvented herself after everything that went down a year ago… After all the people she hurt and the family she tore apart.

Slowly, life is getting back to normal. Molly has just said I love you to her new boyfriend, Ian, and they are off on a romantic European vacation together, starting with scenic London. But there on a tube platform, the past catches up to her in the form of Gabe, her ex, traveling on his own parallel vacation with new girlfriend Sadie.

After comparing itineraries, Ian ends up extending an invite for Gabe and Sadie to join them on the next leg of their trip, to Ireland. And Molly and Gabe can’t bring themselves to tell the truth about who they once were to each other to their new significant others.

Now Molly has to spend 9 days and 9 nights with the boy she once loved, the boy whose heart she shredded, without Ian knowing. Will she make it through as new and improved Molly, or will everything that happened between her and Gabe come rushing back?

Buy Links

Toot's Review by Stacy Sabala

This book is what happens after 99 days.  Molly is now in college in Boston and has a new boyfriend, Ian.  They are traveling together, and she has reinvented herself.  She always plays things safe and tries to plan everything.  She doesn’t want to be the girl she was.  She wants to forget everything that happened and be someone else, a new Molly.
She and Ian are traveling together in Europe.  They are planning to visit Imogen in Ireland.  Things are going well until Gabe and his new girlfriend run into them.  Seriously what are the odds.  The author puts Molly and Gabe into the most awkward situation.  Molly realizes she has feelings still for Gabe but they both have moved on.  Ian is nice and really likes the new Molly.  Molly doesn’t tell Gabe what truly happened after their break-up.  She thinks the dinner they share that one night is the last she will see of Gabe and Sadie.
Unfortunately, Ian invites them to go to Ireland with them.  Ian and Sadie are totally game, of course they don’t know the true history Gabe and Molly share.
This story gets crazier as the two couples continue to be paired together.  Gabe and Molly are thrown together trying to keep their own secrets from everyone else.  Molly starts questioning herself again.  She is completely suppressing her true nature and she can’t truly be herself and Ian.  Then she finds out she doesn’t truly know Ian either.  They have both been keeping huge secrets from each other.
Gabe and Sadie also seem to be fighting with each other as Gabe refuses to admit he is unhappy with his choice for his future.  Once they make it to France, the author makes things go wrong and secrets come out.  Molly realizes she can’t keep running from herself and it’s time to go home.

This story was so crazy.  I have no idea how I would react in her place.  It was such a real story of two exs seeing each other for the first time after they’ve moved on.  It was told from Molly’s point of view and I was on her side the whole time.  Her confusion and hurt was real and understandable when you learn the whole story.  It was a great read.  I give it a 4 out of 5.





No comments:

Post a Comment