Review: Blood and Absinthe (Books 1 - 3) by Chloe Hart

Book Blurb

In this steamy paranormal romance series, the world of the vampires collides with the world of the Fae. The result is antagonism, adventure, and unexpected passion as three alpha males meet their matches.

Blood and Absinthe: Books 1 - 3

Taming the Vampire
Bound by the Vampire
Claiming the Vampire

Book 1 - Taming the Vampire (a novella)

Demon hunter Liz Marlowe and vampire Jack Morgan have hated each other from the moment they met. But when a powerful enemy threatens their beloved city of Boston, they form a reluctant alliance. It's supposed to be temporary - just one night, in fact. But as the tension between them builds to the breaking point, neither is prepared for what happens next.

Book 2 - Bound by the Vampire (a novella)

Celia Albright, an eighth-blood Fae and a spellcaster, is having a very bad day. She's being targeted by an unknown assassin, and she goes to the only person in Boston who might be powerful enough to help her: vampire Evan Grant. Soon, Celia and Evan find themselves caught up in an adventure neither of them expected - and an attraction neither of them is ready for.

Book 3 - Claiming the Vampire (a full-length novel)

Fae princess Jessica Greenwood has never questioned that her duty to her people comes before her own wishes. To avert a war between dimensions, she agrees to an arranged marriage with a stranger - the Dark Fae prince. Then she meets the mysterious vampire Hawk, who challenges all her beliefs and tempts her with a longing she's never even imagined. Now Jessica is caught between duty and desire. With the fate of two worlds hanging in the balance, how will she choose?

Buy Links

Toot's Review by Stacy Sabala

I loved this bundle of books.  It contained 1-3.  Book one starts with Jack and Liz.  They are enemies in a sense.  She can’t stand him, and he drives her crazy.  The author projects the idea that they could never get together because of their feelings of dislike for each other.  It was fun to read how they were forced together and how their dislike wasn’t really what was obvious.  It was a cover for the unwanted attraction they had for each other.  The story was a fast read and everything happened quickly.  The relationship was on fast forward.  I wish there was a bit more to it and build it more instead of just jump into it.
Book two is about Celia and Evan.  Celia is being hunted for what she knows and what she is suggesting.  She comes to Evan for protection.  He is not thrilled to be forced into the middle.  In fact, he denies his help at first.  I like this story.  It is also pretty short, but I like the tempo.  The characters are forced into a situation that brings them together.  Celia is pretty innocent and even na├»ve.  I really liked the pairing in this story.  Liz and Jack are included in this story.  So, it’s fun to revisit them and the author involves them in the storyline.

The third book continues the story.  It takes up where book two leaves off.  Jessica is the Princess and she is going to marry a Dark Fae to bring peace to her people.  Her duty comes first.  However, Hawk, the assassin, from book two makes another appearance.  I love how he comes face to face with Jessica.  The story gets better and better.  Jessica has to do some investigation as there is royal intrigue going on.  It’s shocking as who is involved.  There are hints in book two, but the truth comes out in book three.  Jessica’s shock and her guilt are very much felt from the page.  Hawk also has to fight his nature when dealing with Jessica.  It was fun to read.  I also love the bundle because I didn’t have to wait to read the next installment.  They were great reads.  I like the series and how the author included all the characters in each book.  I give it a 4 out of 5.

No comments:

Post a Comment