Thursday

Review: Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss by Kasie West



Book Blurb

Fan favorite author Kasie West delivers an effervescent story about chasing your dreams and following your heart, perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Huntley Fitzpatrick.

Lacey Barnes has dreamed of being an actress for as long as she can remember. So when she gets the opportunity to star in a movie alongside one of Hollywood’s hottest actors, she doesn’t hesitate to accept the part.

But Lacey quickly learns that life in the spotlight isn’t as picture perfect as she imagined. She’s having trouble bonding with her costars, her father has hired the definition of a choir boy, Donavan Lake, to tutor her, and somewhere along the way she’s lost her acting mojo. And just when it seems like things couldn’t get any worse, it looks like someone on set is deliberately trying to sabotage her.

As Lacey’s world spins out of control, it feels like the only person she can count on—whether it’s helping her try to unravel the mystery of who is out to get her or snap her out of her acting funk—is Donavan. But what she doesn’t count on is this straight-laced boy becoming another distraction.

With her entire future riding on this movie, Lacey knows she can’t afford to get sidetracked by a crush. But for the first time in her life Lacey wonders if it’s true that the best stories really do happen when you go off script.

Buy Links

Toot's Review by Stacy Sabala

I love this author and have read several of her books.  So, I was excited to read this next one.  However, I was a bit disappointed in this story.  I had a hard time getting into it.  I would read it for a while then put it down.  I can’t decide what the main problem was.  The making of the movie being the main idea behind the storyline.  I think it was hard to connect with the main idea.  Lacey was starring in her first film and the author created a behind the scenes story of what the set is like for Lacey.  She struggles with her father’s overprotectiveness and being the newbie in the movie.  Her costar is the typical egotistical actor that was a bit predictable. 
I like how Lacey felt she didn’t belong in her mom’s house anymore.  The author had a lot of situations to work with and I feel she didn’t utilize them like she could have.  Lacey was vulnerable in some situations and it was glossed over.  She was just a hard character for me to relate to.  Her reactions to most things didn’t seem realistic.

Donovan was a nice character.  I liked how he didn’t let her ego get out of control.  There were moments when she tried when she tried to be a bit of a diva-especially when it came to her responsibilities that were not what she wanted to do. It was an ok read.  I give it a 3 out of 5.




No comments:

Post a Comment