Sunday

Review: Once Kissed (O'Brien Family #1) by Cecy Robson



Book Blurb


Once they shared a night of passion. Now a chance encounter forces them back together. In Cecy Robson’s O’Brien Family series debut—perfect for readers of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn—two total opposites find that the flames of desire are still smoldering.


Tough-as-steel cop Curran O’Brien is quickly rising through the ranks of the Philadelphia police department. But when his rookie partner is almost killed under his watch, Curran just wants to prove he still has what it takes to walk among Philly’s finest. So he’s pissed to be stuck on a cushy security assignment for the DA’s office . . . until he gets a good look at the sweet, straitlaced intern he’s supposed to protect—but not touch.

Tess Newart recognizes Curran instantly. How could she not? Back in college she tied this former frat boy to the bed with her argyle socks! That sizzling one-night stand was the only indiscretion Tess ever allowed herself. She has survived law school so far, despite being pushed to succeed by her overbearing father. Now that she’s interning on a major case against a ruthless crime boss, she won’t jeopardize her career by giving in to temptation again. She just never expected temptation to look so damn hot in uniform.

Tess knows her father has other plans for her, and they don’t include Curran. But soon she’s falling for him all over again. And when danger emerges, Curran will prove just how good a bad-boy cop can be.

Links

Toot's Review by Stacy Sabala

In this O’Brien Family Novel Curran is hired to protect the intern helping his brother Declan in a big case. Her life may be in danger because of it. Curran is surprised to find the woman is a fling he had in college. She went by Tess then but she is Contessa now. He is determined to do his job of keeping her safe but keep his distance. He is attracted to her and sees the sadness she tries to hide. He likes putting a smile on her face, a real smile. However he needs to fight his attention to her.

Contessa lives in fear. Her father controls every aspect of her life. She has six months left of law school then she takes the bar. Once that is done she can get her own job making her own money. She will no longer be under his thumb. She is shocked and embarrassed when she realizes who will be protecting her. She remembers Curran well and what they did. She doesn’t want anyone to know about them. She has a plan and needs to follow it through.

However, when she is with Curran she feels alive and happy. She throws caution to the wind and refuses to fight the attraction between them. She becomes hard to resist. As they grow closer both won’t tell their secrets, but Curran’s nightmares get worse. He eventually has to tell her. Tess gives him the choice of getting help. She can’t take any more issues in her life. She also has to share her secret about her father. Curran learns what her life is really like and is forced to let her handle things her way. When things turn bad, Curran and Tess have to trust each other to survive.

I love this series and this author. The characters she has created are gritty and real. Their lives are anything but perfect. They have issues that have shaped the people they are.

Curran has a big family and is a Philly cop. He is good at his job but has been through a traumatic experience with his partner. He has major guilt over the outcome and nightmares constantly.

Tess is smart and almost done with law school. She has a plan. Once she is done and passes the bar she will be free from her father. She doesn’t know how she can get rid of the fear she feels toward her father. It is sad what he does to control her. He is a good villain. Someone you love to hate. The author did a great job making him evil and heartless. I wish that Tess would have stood up to him but I understand how broken he made her. She needed her strength earlier to protect herself.

Curran and Tess made a great couple that helped each other. I liked their chemistry and how they were together. The ending was awesome. I loved how she stood up to her father and got everything she needed. Love it! I give it a 4 out of 5.







No comments:

Post a Comment