Wednesday

Emily Skinner AKA E.W. Skinner: Author Spotlight, Interview, Fun Facts, Trailer & Giveaway



Book Blurb & Info

Marquel is a retro early 90's novel that travels from Florida to the glitz of Hollywood and back again. A high-velocity story of glamour and celebrity in the tradition of Jackie Collins and Harold Robbins.

An emotionally broken yet rising star Marquel is struggling with haunting memories, a romance with her psychiatrist, a mystery man who is stalking her all while an aggressive tabloid journalist Mark Collins is trying to unveil her past. It's a race to see who will discover her secrets first and how that knowledge with effect her career and the men who love her.


Buy Links

Trailer




Book Blurb & Info

The dramatic conclusion of Emily Skinner's first novel Marquel brought requests from readers to continue the story.

Marquel's Dilemma begins three years after the actress Marquel's tragic past has been exposed by tabloid journalist, Mark Collins. The media exploitation of her life brought a new responsibility. She would become a voice of hope for others, not as the actress Marquel, but under her married name.
Zach Manning, Marquel's psychiatrist, lover -- and now husband -- made a huge mistake in protecting her. Unbeknownst to his wife, Zach asked for a favor, not weighing the consequences. Now Collins is back for revenge. The first time it was his job... now it's personal!


Buy Links
Amazon / Goodreads

Book Blurb & Info

Sybille Malone lives in an overpopulated Manhattan, Region One, of Global Good 2202. Their society is the fulfillment of utopian ideals developed by the surviving masses of 2100. Seventeen-year-old Sybille is a resident of Dayshift and longs for a Nightshift boy known only as Mark.

Distraught by Global Good's restrictive culture, Sybille is desperate until she finds a relic of a past civilization. The discovery of Blair's diary sets off a chain of supernatural events that not only affects Sybille's close relationships, but has Global Good scrambling to find the culprit.

The St. Blair series is author Emily Skinner's first YA series.


Buy Links

Book Blurb & Info

Twenty-four hours earlier the world was a pristine, productive, demon-free society and Sybille Malone an unknown Region One Fabric Counsel designer.

Global Good's curator and guardian of banished relics warehoused in the Arctic Region, Eston Cote, needs to act fast. As Global Good's North Quad leader, he must prepare his colleagues in the other three Quadrants of the world for something they have never known... warfare.

Celestial warfare. A fight for souls.

Eston has discovered Sybille's connection to a chain of supernatural events that not only caused planetary earthquakes, but unleashed the Holy Warrior St. Michael the Archangel and his enemies. Michael's sole mission is to defend Sybille's calling, slaying the hounds of hell who threaten to possess the citizens of her world.

Divinely foreseen and journaled by 21st century teenager St. Blair, Sybille's only hope of reining in the evil she unleashed on September 14, 2202, is to follow the directives of Blair and the saints before the demonic possessions outnumber the innocents.

The St. Blair series is author Emily Skinner's first YA series.

Buy Links
Amazon / Goodreads

Interview


Q: When did you know you wanted to be a writer? When did you start writing?

A: I wrote poetry as a kid and then thought I wanted to write a novel after I saw romantic movies like Gone With The Wind and Cleopatra. I also started reading historical romances about the same time. All of the movies we watched it seems, were historical or period pieces. So my first stab at a novel was about an Irish widower during a potato famine, I think? It was really bad and of course in those days they married teenagers and I had a teen lead with an older man and a child. No clue why? There were also lots of rats invading the Irish town, so it was like who will eat? The people or the rats… and in the middle of this a romance blossoms between a grumpy older man who basically is taking in the teenage girl as a babysitter for his kid. Somehow the girl finds this endearing and falls head over heels, but I think it is shortly after he kills a giant rat that leaps at her. I was a strange kid, obviously.

But then I graduated to reading humor and I wanted to be the next Erma Bombeck and then later I read Stephen King short stories and wanted to write horror. This was from elementary to middle school age. As I got older, I went back to romance stories and tried Harlequin formulas, but nothing stuck with me. I wasn’t very good, but I tried. I really did. I wanted to be a writer and I couldn’t seem to put the sentences together as well as I should.

Q: Where do you get your inspiration?

A: My mother and father are tremendous readers and they still read regularly. We had hundreds of books in our house when we were growing up and my dad built book cases for their collections. They also took great pride in organizing the books and keeping the home library orderly. It was an amazing time when print books were in vogue. We had Literary Guild and Book of the Month Club books coming in the mail regularly and my mother would say, “some day these will all be yours” to us kids. I truly believe it was my parents’ passion for books that grew my passion to write. However, I was a painfully slow reader. I didn’t read a lot, but what I did read and complete I loved. Charlotte’s Web was and is my favorite children’s book.

Q: Why do you write for young adults?

A: I like clean stories. Meaning less violence, adult language and situations, but I do write those stories, too. However, with young adult, there is a challenge to tell a story in a format that seems to warrant discretion and clarity. If that makes sense. Which means writing what is sometimes a controversial topic in a creative way that is suitable for all audiences. I love reading historical books from both the adult and children’s section of the library. I marvel at how great non-fiction children’s authors relate historical events in a manner that makes it easy for anyone to understand. Plus, I love young people’s perspective of the world. I once had a creative writing teacher tell me that I have a certain naiveté in my writing. I think my inner voice is 14.

Q: What advice do you have for young authors?


A: Don’t give up. Write, read and write again. Enjoy telling the story and don’t get concerned about grammar. You can get help when it comes to grammar and editing. However, you have to write something first. We are always learning, so don’t beat yourself up. Just keep writing your unique stories your way. Don’t copy anyone. Just write what is inside you.

Fun Facts


-Emily Skinner named both her book series after her daughters. Marquel was named after her daughter, Marquel. St. Blair was named after her daughter, Blair.

-Emily was extremely pleased to see the famous actor Eric Roberts starring in the book trailer for Marquel.

-Emily wrote dramatic poetry and short stories as a child.

-Emily was a staff writer for the Clearwater Sun Newspapers.

-Emily is currently a sales rep and hopes to step away from that position to focus on writing full time.

-Emily currently resides in Florida with her husband.

-Emily was mentored by Harry Whittington, whom she met while working for the Clearwater Sun Newspapers.

-Emily has written skits for several cable access television shows.

-Emily was a terribly slow reader as a child. Her favorite book was Charlotte’s Web .

Author Info

Emily was born in Birmingham, Alabama. As a preteen, Emily was always interested in writing. According to Emily she “wrote very sappy dramatic poetry and short stories.” These were all written in longhand on spiral notebooks. At the age of 19, Emily began to get serious about writing. Emily decided she wanted to be the next Erma Bombeck and write humor so she enrolled in a creative writing class and got herself published in the St. Pete College literary magazine Obelisk which fueled her creative flames.

Emily went on to write as a freelancer and staff writer for the Clearwater Sun newspapers and did everything from celebrity interviews, reviews, features and such. It wasn’t until her interview with the late master of the pulps or paperback originals, Harry Whittington, that she began to consider writing novels. Whittington was on the board of the Suncoast Writer’s Conference in St. Pete and it was their friendship and his guidance that resulted in her outlining and Whittington greenlighting the plot and first chapter of her book, Marquel.

As Emily’s children came along and the responsibilities of a day job and family required more focus, she took a break from writing and focused on her day to day priorities, but the creative side of her couldn’t be silenced. Emily decided to support other writers by starting a zine Bohemian Chronicle in the early 90s and publish works from writers and artists around the world for a period of five years. It wasn’t until she and her sister got into cable access programming and made several avant-garde shows, that her desire for writing rekindled. Fast forward, Emily publishes two books in the Marquel series and two in the St. Blair series with more in development.

Now with both daughters grown and the nest empty, Emily is determined to be the full time author she always dreamed she’d be. However, she still has a day job until the book sales ramp up to a level that makes the final leap possible.

Links
The St. Blair series: http://ewskinner.com/ 
The Marquel series: http://emilyskinnerbooks.com/ 
Emily’s blog: http://www.thefilmmom.blogspot.com/
Twitter: @emilyauthor 

No comments:

Post a Comment