Saturday

ARC Review: Wanderlost by Jen Malone



Book Blurb

Not all those who wander are lost, but Aubree Sadler most definitely is on this novel’s whirlwind trip through Europe. A romantic and charming YA debut perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Jenny Han.

Aubree can’t think of a better place to be than in perfectly boring Ohio, and she’s ready for a relaxing summer. But when her older sister, Elizabeth, gets into real trouble, Aubree is talked into taking over Elizabeth’s summer job, leading a group of senior citizens on a bus tour through Europe.

Aubree doesn’t even make it to the first stop in Amsterdam before their perfect plan unravels, leaving her with no phone, no carefully prepared binder full of helpful facts, and an unexpected guest: the tour company owner’s son, Sam. Considering she’s pretending to be Elizabeth, she absolutely shouldn’t fall for him, but she can’t help it, especially with the most romantic European cities as the backdrop for their love story.

But her relationship with Sam is threatening to ruin her relationship with her sister, and she feels like she’s letting both of them down. Aubree knows this trip may show her who she really is—she just hopes she likes where she ends up.


Buy Links

Toot's Review by Stacy Sabala

Aubree Sadler was having a party right before graduation and of course nothing goes right.  Her older sister, Elizabeth, shows up, the police get called and her sister gets arrested.  Now she has been talked into taking her sister’s place as a tour guide for an old people’s tour around Europe.  She has never been anywhere and relies on her mother to take care of everything.  She has no clue how she is going to pull this off.  Things get worse before she even starts.  She loses her phone and the information blinder that Elizabeth gave her telling her what to do.
After a little bit of help from a couple of people she believes she can wing it or fake it.  Of course she then finds out that one of the passengers on the tour is the owner’s mother.  Evaluations are crucial to Elizabeth’s job.  Aubree panics a little more, but she refuses to call her sister.
When one of the passengers figures out something is up, Aubree confesses her secret.  He keeps her secret but when a new person joins the tour he encourages Aubree to tell the truth.  Aubree is afraid of what will happen, but her guilt is getting to her.  She doesn’t like how she is feeling.
When tragedy strikes the tour and Aubree’s secret is revealed, she is devastated.  She doesn’t know what to do.
I liked this story.  Aubree had to leave her comfort zone and really start depending on herself.  She realizes she is stronger than she thinks.  The author created a wonderful cast of characters that added humor.  The seniors on the bus were a hoot.  The job sounds fun in my opinion.
I liked how Aubree really questioned what she was doing.  Her conscience was front and center.  She was stuck in a difficult position.  It was an excellent dilemma to get the reader to question how they would handle things.  It also revealed how much Aubree cared and how much Elizabeth may not have at first.

There were lots of side stories present.  The story between Aubree and her sister, the story between Aubree and Sam and then the story of Aubree and the tour.  It was a cute book and I loved it.  I give it a 4 out of 5.




No comments:

Post a Comment