Saturday

ARC Review: A Season for Fireflies by Rebecca Maizel



Book Blurb

A story of second chances from the author of Between Us and the Moon, which Kirkus Reviews called “what first love is meant to be.”

A year ago, Penny Berne was the star of her high school’s theater department, surrounded by a group of misfit friends and falling in love for the first time. Now her old friends won’t talk to her, her new best friend is the most popular girl in school, and her first love, Wes, ignores her. Penny is revered and hated. Then, in a flash, a near-fatal lightning strike leaves Penny with no memory of the past year—or how she went from drama nerd to queen bee.

As a record number of fireflies light up her town and her life, Penny realizes she may be able to make things right again—and that even if she can’t change the past, she can learn to see the magic where she never could before.


This captivating new novel about first love, second chances, and the power of memory is perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall and Katie Cotugno’s How to Love.

Buy Links

Toot's Review by Stacy Sabala

Penny is the lead in the play with best friends May and Wes.  She has to show how happy she is.  She doesn’t want anyone to know how bad her mom really is.  How her mom blames Penny for everything.
So when Penny and her dad put her mom in rehab, Penny pulls away from everything.  She quits the play and avoids her friends.  She starts hanging out with new friend Kylie who doesn’t ask the questions that Penny doesn’t want to answer.  She is free to leave her home life behind.  However as a result Wes refuses to talk to her anymore and May gives her only an occasional smile.  Her friendship with Kylie is safe.  She can keep her distance.
One night at a party, the unbelievable happens.  Penny is forever changed.  She doesn’t remember the last year and she doesn’t understand how her friends are no longer her friends.  She doesn’t know who she is anymore or what she has to do.  She can’t believe she quit the theater.  That is her life.  She has no idea how to fix what went wrong.  She wishes she could remember.
I have read this author before and have liked the story.  So I was happy to get this book. It immediately shows the friendship Penny has with May, Wes and the others.  You can tell she loves being in plays and being dramatic.  Then the author throws in the issues with her mother and the father who is hardly there.  I felt sorry for Penny as she tried to deal with what was happening.  She couldn’t fix it so she withdrew from everything.
It was an interesting concept that she changed into a completely different person.  She left her old friends and the theater behind.  She had new popular, partying friends.  The fact that she completely changed her personality and even ridiculed her old friends was extremely sad.  I like how the author approached the story with this idea.  The reader can understand why Penny freaks out over what her mother said to her and the author made the moments heart wrenching. You can just feel Penny break. 

Then add the fact that after the accident Penny loses her memory which gives her the chance to turn everything around.  She ends up being a combination of the two people she previously was.  I really like how she changed and grew into who she was supposed to be.  It’s a great read and I give it a 4 out of 5.




No comments:

Post a Comment